Notes

I haven’t posted on here for awhile so here goes – I’ve been listening to bits of everything lately, including a lot of Top 40. Interesting to see what becomes a hit or not, mainly repetition from the sound of it. Also, listening to Top 40 pop and club music starts to reveal the connections in new country pop. In many cases there really is no big difference.

Acts like Carrie Underwood can sing country, but have moved squarely into pop land, with gauche songs like Uh-uh-uh-uh “Undo It,” a song that is worth listening to for the laughs, but best in moderation to forgo the need for reconstructive ear surgery.

I also recently sent in my review of the new song by Julianne Hough (Carrie II) “Is That So Wrong?” Hard to see a lot of good in it, but I gave her voice credit despite the shoddy nature of the whole thing. While listening to it carefully I realized it reminded me strongly of something else. Some hours later I realized what: “Wasted” by Carrie Underwood. You’d have to be wasted to get into a song like either of those.

I’ve also been listening a lot to Dierks Bentley’s Up On the Ridge. Cuts like “Fiddlin’ Around,” “Love Grows Wild” and “Senor (Tales of Yankee Power” are really impressing me. You can see Dierks’ Station Inn bluegrass roots show through on stuff like that. His cover of “Senor” is also really well done, to my ears, with lines like “Son this ain’t a dream, this here’s the real thing,” getting across a powerful play on words on this Coca-Cola American-dream term in a totally different context and perspective.

About countrychorus

I'm a journalist and videographer with an interest in country music currently working north of Toronto, Canada. I have a B.A. from Carleton University and a Master's Certificate in Broadcast Television from Fanshawe College. You can follow me on Twitter: www.twitter.com/paulrbrian
This entry was posted in Country Music, General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

